Pompeii, the frozen city 79 AD

The city of Pompeii was an ancient Roman town-city near modern Naples in the Italian region of Campania, in the territory of the comune of Pompei. Pompeii along with Herculaneum and many villas in the surrounding area, were mostly destroyed and buried under 4 to 6 m (13 to 20 ft) of ash and pumice in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 AD. (from Wiki)

I arrived at this city with a little bit of drizzling from the sky. Looking at the ruins, corroded by rain, is a mixed feeling. The city which was frozen in time by the volcanic eruption, is perhaps one of the most exciting finding in the archaeologist history of all time. Yet according to my informants, there are insufficient funding to fully excavate and protect the place. Many of the sites are fenced, but not worked on. One site is covered, seems visitable with plasma monitor installed, but closed from public. The city is huge, takes time to explore, but lay down to corrode and collect dust.

IMG_1801

IMG_1796

IMG_1823

The most astonishing preservation in Pompeii, is the figures of people which were covered by volcanic ash. It happens so quickly it froze and documented down the life of people who failed to escape. Overtime, the bodies decomposed and left empty cavity. The archaeologists pour plaster into the voids, and form these astonishing figures.

IMG_1808

IMG_1813

IMG_1826

IMG_1817

IMG_1818

(Above) I asked the cleaner ‘where’s the rest of the bodies?’ He pointed me a few sites, few of which most visited by tourists, enclosed in a glass cabinet, full of visitors, that you have to queue and take turns to take photographs. Afterwards I follow to another site which the cleaner had told me. Funny, I found nothing, it was very remote from the main sites, no signs, no boards,  but one suspicious shelter which you have to walk around the wall, across the grass field in order to get there.

There, I found the most well preserved bodies of all, a seemingly family of three, laying under the shelter, no protection, no glass, no boards, no explanation, just under a shelter.

IMG_1898

IMG_1909

IMG_1875

IMG_1880

Absolutely amazing, even the wrinkles of the clothes are visible, that almost make me suspicious that this not a real body but an artwork representation.

Okay, the aboves are the best photographs I’ve got. Below are the photographs of the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_1799

IMG_1803

IMG_1805

IMG_1829

IMG_1834

IMG_1843

IMG_1844

IMG_1849

IMG_1867

IMG_1874

Hope you enjoy this series of photographs. Please leave your feedback and comments! I came alone and follow some other tour groups to listen to some explanations, but miss out many important points. What are the waterways for? Why are there big rocks in the middle of the road? What is that ‘grinder’ looking thing? What is that small Colosseum? Please tell me!

2015 update:

I published my first lens modification in 2010, received 100’000+ views on youtube, got viral with the DIY tilt-shift lens on PetaPixel and I did not make any money from sharing the reviews and DIYs… not to mention the many failed DIYs that left me with many dead camera/lens corpses.. So please support me if you have the ability! Any amount is appreciated!

$1 – Aah… coffee
<$5 – Mmm… lunch meal
<$10 – Woo… ramen
<$25 – Waa… steak
>$50 – WOW! Thank you!

btn_donate_pp_142x27

2 thoughts on “Pompeii, the frozen city 79 AD

  1. I really enjoyed looking at your photo’s. my son is presently in Italy on his OE and he visited Pompeii today. 13.05.15. I would love to go there one day as I love any old archeology ruins. I saw a exhibition of Pompeii in Wellington, New Zealand at Te Papa Museum a couple years ago and I saw the beautiful artwork and the replicas of the humans that died and also watched a video in 3d of what may have happened on that awful day back when Mt Vesuvius exploded, it was awesome. One day I hope to go there. Thank you.

    Lynda Pussell
    Rotorua
    New Zealand

Leave a Reply

