DIY Tilt-Shift lens mk3 and mk4 aka Universal Tilt Adaptor

DIY Tilt-Shift lens mk3 and mk4
aka
Universal Tilt Adaptor

diy_tilt_mk3_02

This is the 3rd version of the DIY tilt-shift lens, also built from the cheap Canon 50mm 1.8 II like the ugly mk1. A friend of mine wrote an article for the mk1 just before she broke her 50mm 1.8 II… so hey, let’s build an even uglier mk3 and mk4! (for $0).

The biggest problem with the mk1, is that I can’t hold still for video taking. So I want to have the following features:

  • Hold still at tilt position
  • Build for my Canon and Olympus mounts
  • A universal lens mount so I can switch between both

The resultant (cheap and easy) solution? Use these spongy rubberized as base material that can hold the lens in all position and, to accept any lenses. I used some left over materials from the workshop so I didn’t spend any money on making these.

diy_tilt_mk3_03

So here I have the 50mm again (5 years after I built the mk1). Same thing, the mechanism dropped off.

diy_tilt_mk3_04

This is the unit that moves in and out of barrel for focusing. All I need is this construction without the electronic this time round. However I will lose the control of aperture if I do that… Solution? To make a mechanical aperture switch.

diy_tilt_mk3_05

So I took it further apart and I reached the aperture control mechanism, I got to figure out a method to control this from outside.

diy_tilt_mk3_06

This is the actuator responsible for the aperture. The deciding moment when I cut this off permanently, there will be no return.

diy_tilt_mk3_07

The idea is to trim it off so I can attach a lever where I can access. However… due to my poor workmanship I broke it… I spent some time figuring out how to assemble the blades back as one piece.

diy_tilt_mk3_08

Finally, I managed to put it back, in addition a lever access.

diy_tilt_mk3_09

Next, is just a simple glue to make the mount, also an universal mount. Because technically it can accept any lens (with the right flange distance).

diy_tilt_mk3_10

manual_aperture_diy_mk3
The manual aperture in action

Eventually, I built the lens element with Canon mount as mk3 (left), and the right using Olympus micro-four-third mount (right), which can accept the same 50mm lens.

diy_tilt_mk3_11

diy_tilt_mk3_12

I called it an ‘Universal Mount’ because it can attach any lens. One of the easiest to attach for the micro-four-third is the Leica LTM 50mm F2 because its retractable.

diy_tilt_mk3_13

Picture above shows the Yashica 28mm 2.8 adapted for Canon. The flange distance is too short, so it became more like a tilting macro lens. The ‘universal’ is a funny term, actually it is just a freelensing adaptor with bellow.

A demo on the fixed mk4 for video, shot taken at Bangkok visited just after I completed the mk4:

That’s all! Hope you like these projects. Feel free to leave any comments or feedbacks.

One thought on “DIY Tilt-Shift lens mk3 and mk4 aka Universal Tilt Adaptor

Leave a Reply

