Standing Lamp Planter… From Car Scraps

exhaust_planter_01

Standing Lamp Planter… From Car Scraps

(26 Sept 2015 update: Its an irony that the Volkswagen Jetta exceeds nitrous oxide caps by 15 to 35 time as tested in the recent Volkswagen emission cheat scandal.. well.. this exhaust pipe from the Jetta should make it cleaner 🙂 )

“You’re just like my grandfather collecting these junks!” A colleague exclaimed as I salvaged parts from a Volkswagen destined for the scrap yard. Grandfather from Germany or not, I couldn’t let these potentially useful parts go―even though sending them to the scrapyard was a sensible way to recycle them as metal compounds.

I’ve always been especially intrigued in furniture and homeware items handmade with materials that are out-of-the-ordinary; creation grown from the maker’s inspirations. Not only are they aesthetically unique, it’s also living with your passions and hobbies in another way―a functional, practical way.

exhaust_planter_02e
Some examples: an engine block placed with glass on top became a coffee table as seen on the show ‘Top Gear’, a Vespa chair I’ve seen at a biker’s hangout place in Singapore, and a chandelier made with bicycle parts.

These projects inspired me to try to do something with these scraps at my disposal. I wanted to make something useful and meaningful, maybe a lamp.

exhaust_planter_03
Salvaged loot from the Volkswagen.

Besides having the lamp, I also thought about making a bench with the exhaust catalyst housing (right), but it might be too curvy and bulky as a one-seater. So it seemed that this long curvy pipe (left) was more suited to be a standing lamp.

exhaust_planter_05
To be honest, I had no idea how it would turn out. Out of all the scraps, I spotted this single rim, and thought I’d use it as the lamp’s base due to its potential for basal support.

I looked all over in hardware shops for a pipe with the right internal diameter but was not successful. Luckily, I remembered a joint in the other salvaged pipe that could work. It fit nicely with the standard leftover “Bosch profile” without any additional cutting.

In order to prevent scratches of the base with the floor, I also recycled the rubber for the door sealing from the same car to hug the base. I glued it on and it stayed on, nice and firm.
In order to prevent scratches of the base with the floor, I also recycled the rubber for the door sealing from the same car to hug the base. I glued it on and it stayed on, nice and firm.
Next, I cut a small outlet for the internal wiring so the electrical cable can run through without getting crushed by the weight of the exhaust.
Next, I cut a small outlet for the internal wiring so the electrical cable can run through without getting crushed by the weight of the exhaust.
So this is the first prototype made without a clear direction or idea; I told myself to just put things together. It didn’t turn out so well, and I scrapped the idea of using the steering wheel.
So this is the first prototype made without a clear direction or idea; I told myself to just put things together. It didn’t turn out so well, and I scrapped the idea of using the steering wheel.
While brainstorming for lamp solutions and also the possibility of adding greenery, I found this aluminium cutlery holder from Ikea.
While brainstorming for lamp solutions and also the possibility of adding greenery, I found this aluminium cutlery holder from Ikea.
Left: Lighting it up for the first time! Right: While looking for ideas to build a planter, I found this tin container bought many years ago for diesel, and thereafter left collecting dust and rust.
Left: Lighting it up for the first time!
Right: While looking for ideas to build a planter, I found this tin container bought many years ago for diesel, and thereafter left collecting dust and rust.
The tin container still gave a bad diesel smell, I was afraid any sparks from the grinder could cause fire, so I washed it many times before I started grinding. After I cut a small opening with the grinder, I used a sheet metal cutter to cut the shape out. It was quite sharp even after sanding, so I cut some scrap electrical wire harness to cover the edges.
The tin container still gave a bad diesel smell, I was afraid any sparks from the grinder could cause fire, so I washed it many times before I started grinding. After I cut a small opening with the grinder, I used a sheet metal cutter to cut the shape out. It was quite sharp even after sanding, so I cut some scrap electrical wire harness to cover the edges.
I intended to water seal it so I could put soil and water in it. So here’s the requirements for design: I have to access it from bottom without reaching any screws from inside There’s shouldn’t be any protruding screws that can’t let it stand by its own. The solution? Make a 4mm mount support. This is so I can still attach and remove the container even after I put soil and water into it. The mounting fits perfectly.
I intended to water-seal it so it could hold both soil and water without leakage. This made attaching it a little more complicated. 1) The easy way out would be to drill a mounting hole through the container, but that wont be possible especially after soil and plant are put inside. So there has to be an extension plate to be fixed on the container. 2) The container should be water-sealed after mounting the extension plate. 3) The extension plate should be able to lay flat when the container-plate-assembly is removed.

exhaust_planter_14

exhaust_planter_15 exhaust_planter_16 IMG_0210

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So here’s the finished product! Would requires a little more work to waterseal the bulb area so it can be an outdoor lamp. Otherwise it will works just fine as an indoor plant. This exhaust pipe planter makes a great addition to my other project the bicycle chandelier.

Hope you like it! Feel free to leave comments and feedbacks.

Also great thanks to http://tweedlingdum.com/ for her feedbacks, inspirations and editing. Check out her other writings!

One thought on “Standing Lamp Planter… From Car Scraps

Leave a Reply

