DIY Geometric Brass Pipe Planter

title

There is no need to pay an exorbitant amount of money for the geometric brass pipe planters you’ve been lusting after. Here’s a simple DIY which can be easily done at home, and with recycled materials.

You will need:

1) Brass / copper tubing 2) Pipe cutter 3) Fishing line / nylon string 4) Standard stationary scissor and measuring tool 5) Optional pipe straightener

p.s. You can probably find very similar guide/instruction online as this is quite a common DIY/hack. Here I will be sharing my method and tips.

brass_making0
(Left): The brass/copper tubes found at art stores are ridiculously expensive.(Top-right): Go to hardware shops and you can buy the tube in a coil at much cheaper rate. (Bottom-right): I used the straightener from my car workshop―the straightener is not cheap. Alternatively, you can use a bench vice to straighten it. The cutter is quite affordable. Measure the length according to your design. I chose the length 120mm because a^2+b^2=c^2; with this number I could form a right-angled triangle with a nice round-up number of 170mm.
I use the 3D software to help me design and generate the triangulated geometries. The ideal solution would be to find a route to put the string so it can be continuous without any breaking point. However... for this particular geometries, I spent hours and I couldn't find the best way to route it.
I used 3D software to help me design and generate the triangulated geometries. The ideal solution would be to find a route to put the string so it can be continuous without any breaking point. For this particular design, a  icosahedron, I spent hours but couldn’t find the best way to route it.
My first trial with the brass tubing. For this simple geometry I managed to route the string as one. I tried hanging it with my bicycle chandelier together with an air plant.
My first trial with the brass tubing. For this design, I managed to route the string continuously. (Background: the bicycle chandelier)
brass_making
So here’s how you do it. Put the string into the tubes, string them up, and tie a knot at the intersection point if you have to.
brass_making2
(Left): Tie the knot. The loose end can be tucked and hidden inside the tube. (Right): Since the incomplete framework can be very flimsy, I made markings with masking tape so it could help me orientate and determine where the tie knots should be.

Upon completing the geometric brass pipe frame, I felt something was still missing, especially to make this a possible home for other plants besides air plants.


I visited the beach to pick up random objects, tin can, basket, coconut shell and drift wood for inspiration. Which is also a good recycle idea as well as cleaning up the beach.
I visited the beach to pick up random objects such as tin can, basket, coconut shell and drift wood for inspirations. Which is also a good recycle idea as well as cleaning up the beach.
brass_making3
I picked up this coconut hull from the beach, which seemed quite perfect…till I accidentally dropped and broke it. All that was needed though was some glue (and string to hold the hull whilst the glue dried), and there you go.
glass_making1
Another experiment that also proves YouTube videos are not 100% workable―followed some instructions on YouTube which says you can hammer the bottom off…and I accidentally broke the whole section off.
glass_making2
Here’s another trial with a better result.
glass_making3
(Left): I am not about to throw away the previously broken glass bulb just yet! I put in my other smaller air plant and made a dessert-theme planter.
(Right): Glass bulb planter (second trial).

brass_glassThere you go! If you find this useful, please share your results and/or leave some comments below! You can also find other DIY projects via the blog menu above. Kindly edited by http://tweedlingdum.com, check out her other editorial works too!

Thanks to repost and support from Cromly.

2 thoughts on “DIY Geometric Brass Pipe Planter

Leave a Reply

