3D printed lens with aperture

I bought a consumer 3D printer during the lockdown to continue with my work and make home repairs. I have always been thinking about building my own camera lens.

Although it is technically possible to 3D print optics, my consumer printer is not capable enough. Therefore I took the optic from a toy camera, designed the aperture blade controls and the mount for the Canon EF mount.

The three screws were there for a functional reason; however, later on, I realize it also improves the ergonomic of handling since the lens is too small, so I keep it there and made a matching lens cap.

The design was done hastily to prove the concept, so I have neglected to design a proper chassis, resulting in horrible light leaks. But the defect has proven to be a feature; I can now control the amount of light leaks with my hand.

I hope you like this project as much as I enjoyed making it; I am always looking for new optics and challenges.

Leave a comment