Olympus 12mm 2.0 3D printed lens hood

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FYI, the Olympus 12mm is a decent lens that comes with a premium price tag, and a VERY PREMIUM metal lens hood that cost 50~90 USD. Even the third party hood isn’t that cheap either.

I got this lens 2nd hand cheap, and I decided to do a really quick 3D modeling of the lens hood. I don’t think I spent more than an hour from measuring, designing, spray painting :p

Modeled from estimating lens coverage, and design inspiration from the original hood as seen from Google image search.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks just like the original eh? Honestly I will prefer a plastic hood than a metal hood, avoid scratching the lens. There is another advantages with this design. From observing the web images it seems like the metal hood requires a knob to screw tight it… not sure if thats a good idea. This 3D printed hood is tight fit, advantage is that is easy to install and remove, downside is it may rotate undesirably. However, to me its pretty tight enough for rotation prevention.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also added an indicator at top and bottom for you to match the centre line.

 


 

 

What do you think? Would you rather want to have a plastic hood? I hope I don’t get sued by Olympus for designing this.

I have setup a patreon page! If you like all the DIY I have been doing for the past decade, please support me!

patreon.com/witonosfreestyle

Leave a comment