Modified tripod collar to fit Olympus 50-200mm classic zuiko with 3D print

I picked up this lens for a really cheap price during my visit in Vietnam, those who own it has very good review of it. One fine day I was itchy find a tripod collar for it, only to find on several forum that the original Olympus tripod collar has been discontinued and very difficult to find.

So I did some research and found the next similar replacement:

There are certain ‘high quality’ tripod collar out there do more than just holding the lens, it has a little track thing that allows the designed lens to slide in and rotate without dropping out. I wanted to find a collar that is similar in diameter yet has the track to do so.

The closest I found is a 2nd collar I imported from China originally for Sigma 150-600mm. Unfortunately the diameter was about 1~2mm off, and fortunately the difference gave me a leeway to design a 3D printed adaptor.

I designed holes to adapt to the lens, and cam pins for the collar. The holes were a little bit off so I have to trim it.
The moment of truth! I was surprised to get the positions of the pins right for the first print.
The printed ring looks almost perfect.

The end result works 90%, the first print is too thin (too loose) and the second print is too thick (too much friction for rotation). I could have perfect the design with another print, but with this I am already very happy with the end result.

One thought on “Modified tripod collar to fit Olympus 50-200mm classic zuiko with 3D print

Leave a comment